Leaky Tilt/Trim Reservoir on '87 Alpha One Mercruiser

alumanut

Cadet
I just recently purchased this boat and, although a long-time boater, I'm new to stern drives. The reservoir appeared to be very low on the tilt/trim pump. Dry runs have not shown any problems in raising or lowering the drive so I simply added the prescribed 10W30/40 oil. I cycled the drive fully up and then back down and left it lowered. A day or so later while vacuuming out the area around the pump I found that the pump and reservoir we're sitting in a pool of oil -soaked carpeting. I had noted the level of the oil in the reservoir after completing the prior add and it had now dropped a good 3/4" to 1". Obviously there is a leak at the pump, but because it went down (---overnight) when the pump was not operating and the drive was fully lowered, my immediate thought is that I have a leaking reservoir. It's raining today and the boat is not covered so I'm playing mechanic via computer. If it does turn out to be the reservoir, will a replacement reservoir fit up with OEM equipment? This is a 1987 Chris Craft with only 350 hours on the engine, so my thinking is that it's all original. Are there other possibilities that I'm overlooking?

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Leaky Tilt/Trim Reservoir on '87 Alpha One Mercruiser

Ayuh,... Welcome Aboard,... Donno which pump you've got,... Post a picture of it, there's 3 or 4 different 1s,...

alumanut

Cadet

Ayuh,... Welcome Aboard,... Donno which pump you've got,... Post a picture of it, there's 3 or 4 different 1s,...

I'll try to do that when the rain stops. The only other data I can offer, aside from the pump being floor-mounted is that the engine is a 3.0 liter. It's going to take a whole roll of paper towels to clean up the spill. Fortunately, or unfortunately, the carpet around the pump seems to have absorbed most of the oil before it entered the bilge.

tpenfield

Staff member