Looking for advice- 65ESL72 issues

GrizzleDizzle

Seaman Apprentice
First boat, looking for some advice! 72 SS16

Hey everyone, looking for some help with my “new” 1972 Starcraft Supersport 16 ft. Purchased about a month ago. Has original 1972 Johnson 65 hp electro-shift motor.

I’ve taken her out about 6 times since I bought her. Initially ran pretty well overall, started very easily every time, idled smooth. The only issue I noticed initially was the motor was pretty loud and The boat had quite a bit of vibration especially when the throttle was wide open. But easily got up to 30-35 mph and seemed pretty solid for a 48 year old motor.

Now- keep this in mind- I have never owned a boat and I have zero experience with outboard motors. I’m learning as I go. Since I bought it I’ve changed the lower unit gear oil (type C), greased every zerk fitting I could locate on the motor, greased the steering rod. This week I changed out the spark plugs, all three of which were fouled, and greased the prop shaft.

Today we took the boat out on the lake, and from the moment I started it up I knew something was off. Idle was rough, stalled a few times before we finally got moving. Even at low throttle the motor was vibrating heavier than ever before. After a few laps around the lake we decided to do some fishing, shut the motor off. When I tried to start it back up it kept stalling. Tried so many times I think I killed the battery and had to flag down some good samaritans to tow us back to the ramp.

So...maybe I’ve got at least a couple of issues here. I suspect that the vibration may be a prop issue, which should be easy enough to fix. But the stalling is a bit more intimidating. Fuel filter? Carb rebuild? All of the above? I guess my question is: What are the most important maintenance tasks I should be undertaking? I’m sure there are plenty of things I should be doing but I have no idea where to start.

thanks in advance for any suggestions!

racerone

Supreme Mariner