Green Boat Transom and Fiberglass repair

Flyingiguanna

Recruit
So this is my first official post on the iBoats forum. I've been reading lots of the other restoration/repair posts on both fiberglass and aluminum boats. I find it all very interesting and informative. I'm new to boat ownership, but grew up with boats as a summer pastime whenever we visited my grandparents. I freely admit to not being much of a fisherman, but love being out on the water (when the weather cooperates. :))

Anywhoo I've acquired my grandfathers small fiberglass rowboat/utility. Its about 12' long and he usually just threw it into us utility trailer or on top of his car when he wanted to go out. I have no idea who made it, how old it is or really anything other than the family has always just called it the "Green Boat" and that it was frustrating to get it registered in my name to put it mildly.

Mostly I plan to use it on a lake near my house and on the Connecticut river to go camping, but before I take it out I have to do some repairs. I'll post pictures shortly of it so you can see, but I probably shouldn't have taken it out on the water in the state the transom is in, and am lucky I didn't loose my motor last fall.

So i'm planning on posting my work, submitting questions, and hopefully i'll be out enjoying her sometime this summer.

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Green Boat Transom and Fiberglass repair

So this is my first official post on the iBoats forum. I've been reading lots of the other restoration/repair posts on both fiberglass and aluminum boats. I find it all very interesting and informative. I'm new to boat ownership, but grew up with boats as a summer pastime whenever we visited my grandparents. I freely admit to not being much of a fisherman, but love being out on the water (when the weather cooperates. :))