New vinyl for 1988 Bayliner Capri

seanmthompson

Recruit
Hey all, first time on the forums here. Love this site and all the help it offers.

On to the question! Inherited a 1988 Bayliner Capri end of last summer. Runs well and is in overall pretty good condition for a boat of its age. Most of the vinyl though has seen better days. From what I've read on here, it doesn't sound too difficult for a DIY job of re-wrapping everything. Don't want anything fancy, just solid white straight wrap around everything (want to avoid sewing as I have no experience with it).

Marine vinyl is sold by the yard, for about 10-20 bucks. How many yard sheets will I need to purchase to re-cover everything? Job includes: bow seats and panels, both main side panels, and back jump seats. (haven't figured out what I'm doing with the main driver and passenger seats as those are the complicated fold down kind)

Any advice on what vinyl to purchase, how much of it to purchase, and what I should ballpark for cost would be really helpful. Thanks in advance!

rlamothe

Seaman Apprentice
Re: New vinyl for 1988 Bayliner Capri

I just did/ had my 87'capri done. I did the side panels because I was able to do it with stapes. I had the cushions done because I don't know about sewing I purchased the lunge seats because my upholstery guy said making them would be a pain. Look at Jo Ann fabrics they sell marine vinyl and foam. Good luck

seanmthompson

Recruit

Hey rlamothe,

thanks for the reply. May I ask how much vinyl you had to buy? I thinking of purchasing online as it seems to be a little less than store prices, but not really sure how many yards I'd need.

Also any pictures you have of the re-done interior for inspiration? I'd love to see how your looks.

Thanks

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner

I get my stuff from this guy...
Nuvtex Crocodile Print Faux Leather Vinyl - by the yard items in Trimjobber Canvas Vinyl and Fabric store on eBay!