Help! New to boating! Which one?

sham

Seaman
Hello to all! I am new to boating so please forgive me if some of my questions sound stupid. I am a mother of 3 - family of 5 looking for a used boat. We want to tube (2 at a time) and ski (same) and possible knee board. We need plenty of room to bring the grandkids at times possibly. We want it to go pretty fast - easy on gas (who doesn't!). We are looking at a bayliner capri (here's the link: http://indianapolis.craigslist.org/boa/735979995.html), a sunchaser: http://indianapolis.craigslist.org/boa/714202724.html , a stingray: http://indianapolis.craigslist.org/boa/729554439.html, a viking deck boat: http://indianapolis.craigslist.org/boa/763964968.html, and a glastron (bit pricy for us right now): http://indianapolis.craigslist.org/boa/764949696.html, a hurricane: http://indianapolis.craigslist.org/boa/763375107.html, and last an Ebko: http://indianapolis.craigslist.org/boa/761407823.html

Sorry so many - but am confused about what to get for our family. Inboard/outboard ? Outboard only? HP? Deck? Please help guide! All opinions welcome!!!:)

drewpster

Commander
Re: Help! New to boating! Which one?

All the boats you picked here look like they would work well for a weekend fun boat. The tri-hull (last on list) may be a little small for a family of five. I would suggest a larger boat. I would also suggest that you give the trailers close attention as well. Of course they have to be in good condition and they have to be easy to load and unload the boat. If the trailer is not designed well it makes it more difficult to load, especially in wind. A trailer with guide-ons like the one in the Hurricane ad a a big plus for a new boater. Regardless of which boat you choose buy some bolt on guide-ons. They will make you life allot easier.