Cheap way to sit higher?

hibbert6

Petty Officer 1st Class
My back-to back seat is too low,a common problem from what I've read in various forums. The base on my B2B seat is 6-8" high. I've tried using a cushion but it's not enough. A captain's chair with flip-up bolster would be perfect, but they're $300 plus a pedestal! A cheaper seat with an adjustable pedestal could work, but the shortest pedestal I can find is 12", which would be the max height I would need if I had my dream adjustable pedestal.

Any ideas on how to do this for a reasonable price?

Dave

ziggy

Admiral
Re: Cheap way to sit higher?

i sit on a type IV pfd. perfect for my boat. i suppose if i wanted to be higher on the cheap, i'd put a orange type II on top of that. bad advise would be to sit on the top of the backrest between the fore and aft facing seats (which i've never done before). would work to be higher, but in my state would get a a ticket. hence i rise by level by sitting on a type IV, which works for me.

UncleWillie

Captain

I made a 12" high open box out of plywood.
A couple of coats of polyurethane and some grey carpet runner from lowe's.

It now sits you at the standard 18" kitchen chair height.
And I gained 3 cubic feet of storage space!
This is how they should be from the factory!

Replaced the pedestal at the helm seat also.
I can now see over the windshield frame without the bolster.

BoatSeats2.jpg BoatSeats3.jpg BoatSeats1.jpg

Husker-Q

Seaman Apprentice

When I need a boost - I sit on one of my thicker fenders

JimS123

Fleet Admiral

Remove the seat, build a bigger base out of plywood and vinyl and relocate the seat higher.

I personally don't have that problem, but I would with a lot of newer boats. In that case I'd be LOWERING the seat and looking for ways to get more leg room. I just can't stand to have my head above the windshield.

hibbert6

Petty Officer 1st Class

Two cushions? :)