first time boat floor restoration please help

dingodan

Cadet
I've never done this before and have so many questions but no one i talk to seems to know what they are talking about so I'm hoping i can get some straight answers here. I have a 17 foot fiberglass boat with a wooden floor and i recently noticed some rot. Kept chasing the rot to find one 5 foot section of the left stringer (made from 3/4 inch plywood) needed replacement and some small random spots on the right stringer had rot too. So i cut out the rotted area of the left stringer on 45 degree angles and my plan is to form and pour a flat surface on the bottom of goop marine epoxy paste so i can fit the new wood in snug. the new wood will be sealed with system three 2 part epoxy resin (cold cure because it is ranging from 3 to 10 degrees outside where my boat is (undercover) right now). i will also use that to glue it in place using pieces of plywood and screws to hold it in places. gaps will be filled with more epoxy resin. once cured the braces will be removed and screw holes filled with more epoxy resin. it will then get covered in fiberglass...My main concern right now is that there are some small areas (mostly on the right stringer) of rotten wood which i want to fix with git-rot the fill in the voids with more goop marine epoxy paste. does git rot really work?? if some spots of rotten wood are not properly fixed or missed or the git rot didn't penetrate deep enough how long do i have before it spreads and i end up having to do this again costing me lots of money in the long run? ideally i would just replace the whole floor but that is a lot of work for me as i have no experience with this and is more expensive but if i will have to rip open the floor again in a couple years thats all this work and money down the drain. please give me some answers and advise on how this is properly done. again i have no idea what i am doing so details are necessary.

rot.jpg

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner