1972 Evinrude Fastwin Help

2fast4u_evinrude

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hey there guys My name is chris and I am new to boating. Always wanted a boat so I bought a 14 feet fiberglass boat with a 1972 evinrude 2 stroke engine. When I bought it I had no idea what I was looking for. So the guys started it up in a tub of water and it run good, shift into gear and started moving water around. The only thing he said was he cant get it to idle long. He was told by someone that he mixed oil too strong.

First run out today and it was windy (big mistake) got the boat started. Position the throttle to the "start" postion then I moved the trottle to the "shift" position and then started to rev the engine back up again. It reved alright but no movement. The motor just rev and rev. I throttle back down and and tried it again and again. Finally I got into gear and went for like 10 seconds then died on me. So I started it again and still cant get it into gear. It does go into reverse but then stalls on me after a few seconds. Please help me out guys. Let me know what it could be? Gear? Shaft? etc? Motor starts fine but I cant shift it gear. THanks in advance

jasper60103

Commander
Re: 1972 Evinrude Fastwin Help

Welcome to boating and your new hobby:D. Since you don't really know the condition of the motor, start with testing compression and spark. Report back with your results. I'm sure this forum can help you get your motor running well.

outlaw241

Petty Officer 2nd Class

lots of help on this board, need to know the hp an model #

outlaw241

Petty Officer 2nd Class