I wanna "get into the game" questions..

pdonohue01

Cadet
Hi,
I am new to iboats and have decided to purchase a pontoon for family fun next season. I have to do all my research online because I am currently deployed overseas with the Army. I have also been told that now is the time to buy because of end of seasons sales, etc. so I will probably end up making a purchase through iboats, boattrader, or ebay motors at some point. Anyway, Although I don't think I want to pay the money for a new one, my wife and I are thinking that a "newer" one would be the way to go. I think we want a 22'-25', 2004 or newer, 90hp 4 stroke, quality boat with trailer included. So my questions are:
1. I know that Bennington, Manitou and Premier are all top rated boats but what about Sun Tracker? There is a bass pro near my home that my family could check out but it doesn't look like JD Power even rated them?
2. I want enough power to pull a tube for the kids and friends but don't need to ski. I am wondering what the min power I should get for a 22'-25' boat.
3. How difficult is it transporting to different lakes? I plan on keeping it at a nearby lake for day-trips but also want to take it to a bigger lake about 2 1/2 hours away for longer vacation trips.
4. How much $ can I expect to pay for upkeep and maintenance. I know that is a loaded question but I am just curious about winterization and such.
5. Should I just stay away from any pontoon that was used in salt-water without being able to inspect the boat personally before the purchase?
Thanks for any advice. This will be my first boat purchase. I have rented a houseboat for a week on the lake and we loved it and growing up I had some experience with small boats in the bays of Jersey but that was a long time ago.
Patrick

EGlideRider

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: I wanna "get into the game" questions..

Hi,