Yamaha 40tlrx no pee stream??

1080tommy1

Seaman
Hi, I am new to the forum and just bought my first boat and outboard motor this week. I got a Yamaha c40tlrx and got her home and ran her for about 15 mins. I noticed that the motor started almose immediately and was amazed because I am near Chicago and the motor was winterized over 5 months ago. The motor idled nicely for about 15 mins and was pumping a noticeable strong pee stream. I went to go get more gas for the gas can and started it again and the pee stream was gone. When I bought it the guy actually hit the starter for about 2-3 secs and I told him to stop. Could that have damaged the impellor??? I know my dad started an older merc cruiser we had and he started the engine and immediately shut her down but the impellor was damaged. I am not familiar with outboards so could there be another cause or should I just get an impellor kit. Sorry for the long first question but I am new to having a small outboard. Thanks.

Tom

robert graham

Admiral
Re: Yamaha 40tlrx no pee stream??

Maybe put the muffs on, start the motor, check for pee stream while sticking a fine wire or monofilament up into pee opening to maybe dislodge any obstruction in that small orifice/tube. Sometimes a small chunk of scale or corrosion can break free from inside motor and plug that line. If that doesn't open it up then drop the lower unit to inspect water pump and circulation down there. It would take more than just 2 or 3 seconds to overheat an impellar to the point of failure, but it's always best not to press your luck on this....always have the water muffs turned on. Good Luck!:)

1080tommy1

Seaman