Y Tube Shutter "Flapper" Maintenance

sr79

Seaman
79 Sea Ray 260HP - I installed a rebuilt sea water cooled 350 engine and set it up for fresh water cooling with heat exchanger. Log type exhaust manifolds are clean and I have a 145 degree thermostat. The engine slowly heats up to 195 degrees and stays there at 3100 RPM and cools down at lower RPMs. Water pump is new but, I didn't inspect the exhaust flapper. My question is: can anything go wrong with the flapper i.e. get stuck and work as a heat riser?

GA_Boater

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Exhaust flap mounting hardware corrodes and flap can drop, partially blocking the exhaust

When you say water pump, the circulating pump or impeller? Water pump is often used to describe both.

sr79

Seaman
I installed a new circulating pump and outdrive pump impeller. Are there any ways to inspect the flap without pulling the engine? Is the flap visible through the exhaust passage when the outdrive is removed?

GA_Boater

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
I haven't replaced a flapper on a V8 or V6, so I'll let the other guys answer that one, SR. But I think the hose can be worked out of the way to look at it, but again, not 100% sure.

I do know you can't easily see it through the Y pipe with the outdrive off. Maybe a mirror? Sometimes it ends up on top of the lower unit or in the exhaust passage in the lower.

Last edited:

Bondo

Staff member
Are there any ways to inspect the flap without pulling the engine? Is the flap visible through the exhaust passage when the outdrive is removed?

Ayuh,..... The only way it's visable with the drive off, is if it burnt up, 'n fell down,....

To see 'em, or change 'em,...
Remove the elbow 'teen the exhaust riser, 'n the y-pipe,....
The shutters are right under the lower rubber boot on the downstream end of the elbow,....

Ya gotta loosen, 'n slide both rubber boots off the elbow to get it out,.....
A hose pick helps loosen 'em, 'n a squirt of Quicksilver Power Tune will make 'em slippery,....