Would you buy this boat? Tahoe Q6

TheAviator

Cadet
Would you buy a, I believe its a "2005" Tahoe Q6? It has a brand new engine, the engine does look new, Mercruiser. The owner offered to take me out on it and seems legit. The price is around $9K but I can probably get him down to about 7.5. Has a trailer, looks in good shape. The only issue is the upholstery needs replacing, its not terrible, but there are some issues with it, including a few rips and holes, I'm thinking that could be done for 1000 or less. The owner said he was quoted $700 from a local upholstery place. Keel looks good, electronics look good, but of course I am an amateur and don't know my own bum from a keel bottom with this stuff. The glass looks good all around, starboard and port sides look fine etc. I am curious as to why the engine has already been replaced as well, I have mentioned this boat on another thread and I had that reaction from some of you. What if I did a total low ball offer of around $6 cash, would that change the situation for you? I believe these boats retail for about $28 new, not totally sure though, I haven't checked lately, just going off memory.

Natesms

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Would you buy this boat? Tahoe Q6

I'd be careful with that one. The interior is ripped up and it has a new motor most likely because the guy didn't maintain it. Interiors don't look like that on an 8 year old boat unless it's left out in the elements uncovered.

While pure speculation, it might have a new motor because he didn't winterize it, it froze and cracked the block. I'm basing this off the the weathered interior and apparent lack of care.