WOT question

BassCat73

Petty Officer 1st Class
I usually run my boat consistently at WOT while going across the lake. My set-up is correct in that I do not exceed my max recommended RPMs of 5500 at WOT. I'm just curious to know if it's okay to generally run my motor at WOT when on plane or if doing that puts too much stress on the motor in some shape or form??

Dave Abrahamson

Lieutenant
Re: WOT question

I'm no expert for sure, but I don't think running an engine that wasDESIGNED to run at that speed would in effect harm the engine somehow. As long as you are propped to run at the manufacturers recommended rpm's, you should be fine to run wide open while doing laps around the lake ;)

BassCat73

Petty Officer 1st Class

That's what I am thinking also, but I thought I'd check in here just to make sure. :)

LubeDude

Admiral

I wish I could afford to do that. :eek: At $100.00 to fill my boat tank, I try and make it last as long as I can. Running it at about 3,500-4,000 RPM. I can get about twice the fuel mileage than I get at WOT.<br /><br />To answer your question, no, youre not doing any damage.

TELMANMN

Chief Petty Officer

I was always told as a rule of thumb(and I think it is in the little operation manual of most outboards) that once on plane an outboard should be throttled back to 2/3rds to get better fuel mileage.<br /> My old two cylinder 40hp if not loaded worked fine at 2/3 but my newer 50hp 3cylinder gets dramatically better fuel mileage at 2/3rd throttle.

even125

Seaman

But! if you ran the engine consistently at 80% of WOT chances are it will last a lot longer than consistently at WOT.<br /><br />Evan

JasonJ

Rear Admiral