wireline trolling setup

rolmops

Vice Admiral
Hello all.<br />This winter I am going to buy a new wireline trolling setup for stripers.We usually troll for them at between 35 and 55 feet on the edge of rips and shoals using 3 or 5 ounce squid jigs.<br />I have a Penn Jigmaster 500 and a Penn 330 GTI.<br />This year I will try 40 pound single strand steel wire on the jigmaster,about 200 yards of it.I do have to buy another rod.Reading all the adds makes my head spin.<br />I do not know what the better choice is in guides.Is it aluminum oxide,carbaloid,AFTCO or carbide? I just learned that there is titanium oxide for guides now. Are round guides better or worse than roller guides?<br />Being about 6 foot tall,should I go for the 5'6" or is the 6 maybe even 7 the better choice? Is it only a Penn rod or are there others on the market which are equals in quality for the same price.<br />Could you please give me your opinion about what you perceive as the best salt water wireline rod?<br />Thank you.

Barlow

Lieutenant Commander
Re: wireline trolling setup

Hi rolmops .. have no real experience in saltwater with wire lines .. but, looked into this and tried it earlier in life in fresh water. <br /><br />One thing I do remember is that Carbide or Stainless (low carbon stainless being better)rollers are a must and that the rod tip is a hinderance to the wire.. I recall it being an angle thing..??<br /><br />just my 1 cent worth of babble.

dingbat

Supreme Mariner

Go either Aftco roller or carbide. I'm using a pair of Sabres and a pair of Penn Senator ARS rods right now. When pulling wire longer is better. A lot of people use an 8'rod when pulling spoons with wire.

rjp101803

Cadet