Which battery and circuit set-up?

Wiggy

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I'm now going to venture into the land of electronics in my little boat but want to hear what the experts think first.<br /><br />All that I'm running is one white light on a rod from the back of the boat and a fish finder. These will used max 5-6 hours in one go.<br /><br />Now I'm also thinking about using my 25hp Merc to maybe recharge the battery (pull start but has alternator and 12v output). Is this advisable? And which battery should I look at buying? How big a battery?<br /><br />Also how should I wire it all up. I have a plate with various switches on and a battery level meter on it. <br /><br />All advice is greatly appreciated.

vipzach

Lieutenant
Re: Which battery and circuit set-up?

First thing, I am no expert! How big is your little boat? I don't think your motor will recharge the battery very fast, but I don't think it will hurt to hook it up. How are you powering the lights and fish finder now? The bigger the battery, the better, as far as run time. You also have to consider the weight though, that is why I asked how big your boat is. If you are going to only run the light and fish finder, than a group 24 battery would last you a long time. I would get a deep cycle and hook it up to a charger when you get home.<br /><br />Does that plate have any switches that are unused? That would be an easy place to be able to turn off the light and fish finder.

Wiggy

Petty Officer 2nd Class

The boat is a 14 footer. The plate has all three switches unused. Fish finder and light are yet to be installed!<br /><br />How big a battery should I buy? What's a group 24 battery? Obviously money being a boundary, a cheaper battery would be great (e.g. less Ahm). Just need a battery that'll do the job great. And what capacity should I be looking at?

jtexas

Fleet Admiral