When should I run my blower?

Mason78

Petty Officer 1st Class
I recently read this article on another thread
http://www.wavy.com/dpp/news/local_n...to-marina-fire

When should I run my blower?

We ski/wakeboard for hours at a time and the engine is constantly being turned on and off as skiers climb in and out of the boat. Should I be running the blower?

I gas up about 5 miles from the launch ramp so I have never ran the blower after fueling.

This is only my second boating season so I am still learning. Any suggestions/advice is appreciated.

tpenfield

Staff member
Re: When should I run my blower?

I run my blower all the time for similar reasons that you stated about stopping, etc. That way you do not have to remember to turn it on/off if idling for a while, etc.

Philster

Captain

If you don't want to run it all the time, try to do so when running at idle speed (no wake speeds) and when you are doing a lot of starting/stopping it might as well just stay on. This in addition to using it at all other times when you start the boat.

Of course, it makes zero sense to use it to draw in dangerous fumes at a gas dock while you are filling up. When done pumping gas, this is probably the time to really look and smell around while the blower runs.

haulnazz15

Captain

I run it any time I'm not on plane, and always for 2 minutes prior to starting if it has been shut off for any length of time.

shrew

Lieutenant

If you have to ask, then it's time to take a Boaters Safety Course. You should be running your blower for 5 minutes PARTICULARLY after you fuel up. This is the most important time to run the blower. Even if you don't spill fuel, gas vapors will escape during the filling process. Gas vapor is heavier than air and will find the lowest portion of your boat. This is typically the engine compartment.