What's wrong this "deal" ?????

Bob in Calif.

Senior Chief Petty Officer
My wife and I are going to Dump Truck, Minnesota for a week to visit some of her family. Having to drive an hour and a half to their house from the propeller palace, I am renting a car, to save someone having to pick us up and take back next week. That's where the "deal" comes to play.<br /><br />I have been renting from the same car rental company for many years, so always being pleased with them, I am going with them agan. I punched in the car I wanted and got a pretty decent rate. I then noticed an offer for people 55 and over. (My wife is over 55.. :D )<br /><br />So I punched up the "55" offer and found the basic car rental was $35.00 dollars higher than the same car I reserved. But...they give a 5% discount for the 55 and over set. Still, with the optional insurance and taxes and "discount", it was still $25.00 over what I paid on a normal rental charge, with the same options.<br /><br />The only thing I can figure is, they charge the "baby boomers" more, probably because they are thought to have more disposable income than other age groups and think they are getting a deal....???... Go figure??????<br /><br />...Bob in Calif...

jtexas

Fleet Admiral
Re: What's wrong this "deal" ?????

Is it really "Dump Truck," Minnesota?<br /><br />You were supposed to assume the "over-55" discount is cheaper and not compare it to the normal charge!

KeltonKrew

Lieutenant

you see that all the time with car rentals. I can book a car rental as an individual. I use my corporate account (which is supposed to be cheaper due to the amount of rentals)....yeah right....I can always get a better deal w/out the corporate!

neumanns

Lieutenant Commander