What year is my Alumacraft?

FlyingD58

Recruit
Hello, I am new to iboats. I am restoring a 195_ Alumacraft Flying D. I don't what year the boat is and would like to find out is there were any differences in the boat's design over the years. The boat does not have a serial number on the boat.

jbcurt00

Staff member
Re: What year is my Alumacraft?

From HERE it looks like the Flying D was a 1958-9 model:

Alumacraftbb002.jpg

How do you know it's a Flying D?

I don't know much about Alumacraft boats, what is & where did you get the 195_ designation?

Welcome to iboats, looks like it'd be a nice little 14' tinny:
Alumacraftb58008.jpg

And that guy ^^^ is all smiles about his new boat :cool:

Best of luck w/ your project.

EDIT:
It does look like there was also a Utility version (designated FD) also produced in 1960, possibly other years. So if it's a semi-v w/ bench seats & is setup for a tiller handle, it might be an FD utility model instead of the runabout style I posted.

We LOVE boat pix, even debris filled derelict boats. So please let us see what your working w/.... Check pix posting info here:

PHOTO Posting Instructions

Alumacraft owner's forum has a few Flying D's, might look thru there too...

Last edited:

jbcurt00

Staff member

Is it just me, or does the kid with the beach ball look like Ronald McDonald before he found his true calling as the hamburger clown?
Ah, yeah, umm, I'm not sure but I think that kid is likely the proud boat owner's WIFE...:facepalm:...:flock:

saumon

Lieutenant

Ah, yeah, umm, I'm not sure but I think that kid is likely the proud boat owner's WIFE...:facepalm:...:flock:

Is the boat in the ad floating in the air? :lol:

Now that you mention it, that thing looks suspiciously like Luke Skywalker's landspeeder

southkogs

Staff member

Now that you mention it, that thing looks suspiciously like Luke Skywalker's landspeeder
.... awesome.