What Trim Oil to use on 1993 Volvo Penta 230a SP CD TRIM

dennis lintz

Cadet
Hello, My Mechanic Buddy moved out of state. So I am trying to do this from forums and Youtube. It is too expensive to take to a shop. I Have to replace the trim oil reservoir because mine is cracked. I am trying to find out what oil to use. The manual says to use 1.05 qts. of oil quality "Same as in engine or ATF". The engine oil quality is "Multigrade oil service SG" . The Viscosity is SAE 20w/50. Ok, as you can see i'm not a mechanic, just poor. Can I use Automotive oil instead of marine oil and is it synthetic? Do I use the same engine oil for the Trim oil or use the ATF. Is the ATF Synthetic or regular? Hope you are not as confused as I am.
Thanks

Bondo

Staff member
Do I use the same engine oil for the Trim oil or use the ATF. Is the ATF Synthetic or regular? Hope you are not as confused as I am.
Ayuh,.... What color is the oil in it now,..??
If redish, use Atf,....
If brownish amber, use the same oil ya use in yer motor,....
Just don't mix 'em,...
Syn oil is unnecessary,....

dubs283

Vice Admiral
Yo, B!

Isn't "any oil better than no oil"?

Ha, jokes aside, as mentioned use what oil currently exists in the system. Red = ATF, brown = motor oil. Yes, sae 30 is recommended and I personally believe thus is due to most boaters having a full/partial quart of motor oil on board

Bondo

Staff member
Yo, B!

Isn't "any oil better than no oil"?

Ha, jokes aside, as mentioned use what oil currently exists in the system. Red = ATF, brown = motor oil. Yes, sae 30 is recommended and I personally believe thus is due to most boaters having a full/partial quart of motor oil on board
Ayuh,.... It the case of boat trim pumps,..??..?? Ayuh,.... Correct,....

They are some of the simplest hyd. pumps, which will run just fine on Any(commonly available) oil, from a 5W hyd oil, to 50W motor oil,....
They'd probably run on gear lube, 90W, but probably sluggishly, though I've never tried it,....