What kind of battery should I be using?

brewern

Cadet
Last year, I purchased an older Chaparral run about, with an 80 HP outboard on it. I can get the exact year when I get back home, for now assume mid 80's. I've attached a picture if that helps.

Let me also preface this with the fact I'm still a noob when it comes to boats.

I had a friend give me 2 deep cycle marine batteries. I thought, well, I'll just use one of these on the boat. They are marine, so they should be fine! Well, this weekend, I charged up the battery, and went to the dock. After putting the boat in the water, I turned the key, and there wasn't much cranking power and I couldn't get the motor running. So, we pulled the boat out, went back to camp and charged the battery some more. After about an hour, I hooked up the muffs, turned the key and VROOOM! Woo hoo! We went back to the launch, launched it, turned the key and VROOOM! After cruising around, we beached it for a while while we swam. After about 1.5 hours, I turned the key again, and whir whir whir. It wouldn't start. While we were swimming, I didn't have the radio or anything else on, but either something is draining the battery, or it's not holding a charge.

After futher research, it now makes sense to me I should have two batteries. One for the engine, and one for the accesories.

My question is, what battery should I buy for starting the engine? Should it be a starting battery, or a marine deep cycle? I assume it should be a starting battery. If so, what is the proper battery to use for starting? The accessories can run off of the deep cycle battery. And if it goes dead, who cares!?!

Thanks!
brewern

procraftguy

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Well what year outboard ? If its unregulated charging system u want a maintance battery with 650 plus cranking amps if its regulated charging system any maintance free battery of same cranking amps deep cycles are for trolling motors and rarlly work for cranking

procraftguy

Petty Officer 2nd Class