water leaking out of bilge from outdrive when on trailer

zoom50

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I just had new ujoints installed on my 1990 Mach 1 that has a 4.3 Mercruiser. When in the water, I run the bilge about every 45 minutes and it runs for about a minute. The last time I brought my boat on the trailer, I left the plug and bilge water in the boat and backed my trailer on a steep incline. I noticed that water was leaking out of the boat at the bottom of the outdrive where it meets the transom.<br /><br />1. Can this cause damage to motor?<br />2. Should I deal with the leak a couple more times and get it fixed when the season is over?<br />3. Can I use marine sealant to seal outdrive housing to transom to stop water from getting in?<br /><br />Yes, I am new to boating. Thanks again.

gspig

Chief Petty Officer
Re: water leaking out of bilge from outdrive when on trailer

1. Motor - no Transome if wooden - yes<br />2. yes<br />3. you could try it.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner

Zoom, If you plan to trailer the boat you can prpbably fix it at the end of the season. However, if the leak is in the outdrive to transom plate connection, it will only take 1/2 hour to pull the drive, replace the gaskets and install the drive.<br /><br />If you leave the boat in the water, you should pull it and repair so it won't get worse and sink you!

murphini

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Hate to jump in on this question, but I have this same issue, am a newbie and was going to have bellows and gaskets replaced on the offseason. <br /> <br />QUestion: How difficult is it to "pull the drive" I can't see where it bolts to/from. OMC 5.0 with Cobra

cobra 3.0

Lieutenant Commander