Water Filling Up In Engine Compartment, Why?????

BornBlue82

Seaman
Ok so just to through this out there, I am still extremely new to the boating world. So today I was on the lake with friends and we all decided to doc at an island. Instead of running my boat up on the sandy shore, I anchored it about 25 ft off of the shore. The front was positioned away from the island and the back was towards us. I had the tilt in the trailer position, because I didn't want it to rub the bottom bc it was about waste deep. Well about 2 hours pass and I board my boat to grab a drink and noticed that there was water on the floor board. I pulled the engine cover back and seen that the bottom of the engine compartment was filled with water. I then turned on the bilge pump and removed water until the pulleys were no longer in water. I then started the boat and the pump pushed water out a lot quicker. It seemed like there were no problems, as the boat started right up. What causes the water to fill up like that? Is it because the tilt was in the trailer postion? Is this normal on in/outboard motors (01 bayliner capri)? Should I put a float switch on this to prevent this from happening? Is this normal? Thanks in advance for the advice!

redneck joe

Supreme Mariner
float switch yes, and probably have a bad boot on the outdrive allowing to leak in.

How many times have you been out?

open you engine hatch and put a fan on it for a couple days. Electrical systems and water don't play well together
t

kjsAZ

Chief Petty Officer
I assume that you have a Mercruiser alpha1G2 in that boat. When were the bellows changed last? If they never were they are well past their use before date for a 2001 boat. Many boats sank because of the bellows not being replaced as a routine maintenance. While you are at it: change the gimbal bearing too.