Virus activity!

kd6nem

Chief Petty Officer
Anybody else getting virus filled e-mail from folks on this board? Now before anyone thinks I'm on a witch hunt or anything- I'm not. Fact is I'm a computer tech and spend hours every week undoing damage from viruses. I see that in nearly every case these days the e-mail in question is spoofing its address and is not from who it says it is from, so don't go off on your buddy or fellow I-boater because it SAYS it is from them. Probably isn't, OK?! But now I am seeing addresses which look like are from a few of my compatriots here on this board. Makes me think now is a good time to throw out a reminder to keep your antivirus protection up to date. Most AV software companies have been updating daily lately, which can be a chore if you have dial up service. It is worth it though. Make sure it is not only updated, but that the settings are correct (action in case of virus should be disinfect or delete, set to scan e-mail if that is an option, etc.). Finally, PLEASE make sure you do a manual scan at least every few weeks unless it is already scheduled to do a deep scan automatically. Just having the anti virus program does not mean it is doing much work. Seeing it in your task bar is not the same as opening it up and letting it run; kind of like using your favorite manufacturer's newest hottest outboard as a trolling motor until you do a deep scan once in the while. Usually some of both makes for the best fishing trip. <br /><br />One other hint: especially if you have a full time connection! (Cable, DSL) Turn your computer off when not using it! Makes a big difference in limiting this stuff. Might have been a couple years ago you could get away with thinking that "viruses won't hit me, let the other guy buy the anti virus program." Now it is about 100% certain that you're infected BAD if you don't have one, and depending on brand and settings at least 25-50% WITH an AV program probably has some sort of infection, from what I'v