Used boat - first launch inspection and key watch points

Dhopper71

Seaman
Hi all. Hope everyone is enjoying this holiday weekend! How great is it to celebrate our freedom?!?!

After searching and reading so many great purchasing and specific inspection lists, I was still at a loss for what I'm looking for. I guess my mother-in-law's paranoia is rubbing off, but my nerves are on the edge about launching my new old boat the first time.

I am a rookie boat owner. I just purchased a really nice 1974 Mark Twain 162T tri-hull and have really tried to look it over with a fine tooth comb. Everything appears to be in surprisingly great condition and seems to work as it should. I really haven't found anything to be overly concerned with ... however, I haven't had it in the water yet.

I think it's ready for the first day out for water trials. I really need help from all the experienced folks here on exactly what to look for during the initial launch and throughout the first day of testing. Can you pinpoint places to inspect for inconspicuous leaks? How about performance testing? What should I put the boat through in the first trip out to make sure it's safe and performing as it should before I get the family out on it?

Can you all help me come up with a checklist of tests and things to inspect during and after my first day? I really appreciate all the help and knowledge everyone here freely share.

Couple pics of the new old ride prior to cleanup:
5e896aeb.jpg

c0b77522.jpg

3f7418ae.jpg

385a7032.jpg

Pez Vela

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Used boat - first launch inspection and key watch points

Spend the 4th of July weekend as an observer at the boat ramp you are going to use to see how, and how not, to launch and retrieve your boat. Wait 'til next week to take 'er out. After launching its all good.

The Rooster

Ensign