Trying to restore Lark V 1063

My non mechanic son has picked-up an old aluminium approx 14' Sprots Craft boat with Evenrude #E02472, model 40373D Lark V motor. The boat, trailer, and motor have been in an old storage building for many years. I am a decent shade tree mechanic (small engines, diesel, autos, motorcycles), but only very limited outboard experience. We realize the rule; "First, do no harm!" applies here.

We fogged the cylinders through the spark plug ports. The engine turned easily by hand starter. We noted a no spark condition and pretty much expected that. We removed and cleaned the carb; but it was remarkably clean already, except the float valve was stuck in the closed postion. We replaced the fuel lines. We removed the fly wheel to find the coils had pretty much turned to dust, but the points looked brand new -- no pitting or wear. The woodruff fly wheel key was sharply creased and cracked! We purchased a new woodruff that was slightly too tall and worked it down to size on a flat file We replaced the coils and condensors. We made a crude check for compression (thumb in plug holes -- seems strong -- yeah, yeah, I know and we will).