Trying to find info on new (to me) boat.

Kender

Seaman Apprentice
Let me introduce myself as this is my first post. I am new to boating, aside from riding in them a dozen times or so. I have never owned a boat before but have been wanting something big enough for the family but small enough to store out of sight in my yard. In my search for the right boat I found they are disproportionately expensive compared to all the other hobbies I have done. However I have found that if a boat needs work the price drops dramatically. I can only guess that people think of boats as magic and are afraid of the unknown. I am a hands on guy with tools of every sort, except for the odd specialty tool that is designed for one specific task on only one size/model item. I do all my own work on my cars so engines are nothing new. I install my own car alarms/stereo systems and have a degree in electronics so the basic 12v system should be cake. I am a woodworker and I have all tools that I would need to build seats, storage wells, transoms, etc. The one area of boats that I do not have experience with is fiber glassing, although from what I have found it doesn't look too hard. Since I am not familiar with the terminology of boating or some of the safety basics I went out and got a copy of "power boating for dummies". I imagine a lot of things are common sense, I work in construction so I deal with safety every day. I have seen and experienced safety issues/injuries and 95% is common sense, the other 5% is safety for the "probably won't happen but just in case" type of situations. That said I firmly believe that you can not safety stupid. You can do everything possible to make a situation safe but stupid will win in the end. Since I am new to boating and there may be some safety things unique to boating and unknown to me in my ignorance of boating please let me know if I mention something that is unsafe. Please be nice about it, at least on the first warning, since it will be due to my i