Troublshooting: Outboard won't run without starting fluid

jtb

Cadet
Hello all,

First of all, I know to NEVER use starter fluid in an outboard motor.
I have a 1964 Johnson Super Seahorse 40hp I'm trying to put back on the water. If I spray some starting fluid (WD-40 etc) into the cylinders and continue to spray directly into the Carb, it will run. But merely seconds after I stop spraying directly into the carb, the engine dies, meaning it's burning the fluid, and not he fuel.

The back of the carb is wet so I know some fuel is getting through. The fuel pump works. I can pull the carb drain screw and plenty of fuel comes pouring out (and I just replaced fuel lines).

Any thoughts? I suspect the carb needs to be disassembled, but I'm new to this. Also, the carb looks pretty buried. It looks like I'll have to take the Starter off just to get to the mounting screws.

Any pro's got some knowledge to share to a young lad?

Thanks,

JTB

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner
Re: Troublshooting: Outboard won't run without starting fluid

As you know, dont do that! :)

Do your motor a favour and put some pre mixed fuel into one of your wife's old spray bottles. Then at least you can troubleshoot, and you motors cylinders can get the lubrication they need.

A carb clean/overhaul is likely in order if the fuel is getting to the carb as it should. Dont be intimidated, start by reading the thread in the Top Secret Files regarding carb rebuild. Let us know if you have any other questions.

You tube may also help, so you can actually watch a video of a carb being cleaned so that you know what you are looking at for your first time.

Tim Frank

Vice Admiral

Hello all,

First of all, I know to NEVER use starter fluid in an outboard motor.
I have a 1964 Johnson Super Seahorse 40hp I'm trying to put back on the water. If I spray some starting fluid (WD-40 etc) into the cylinders and continue to spray directly into the Carb, it will run.

Any pro's got some knowledge to share to a young lad?