Transom matching motor mount?

Kender

Seaman Apprentice
Not sure if this should go in the restoration forum or here. This issue could pop up with out actually doing a resto so I think it should be ok here.

I am new to boating so if I don't use the correct terminology please let me know.

I have a 1981 15' Sea Sprite bow rider that I bought with no motor. I could not find anything about what size motor generally came with these boats but judging from other boats of similar size I could have gone as low as 40hp and still moved the boat. A decent size would be in the 65-75hp range, this would probably give the boat enough power to get on plane fast and still be able to pull skiers/tubers without making the motor top out to do so. I ran across a great deal on a 1989 Evinrude 88 Spl so I figured it was plenty of HP, probably a little overkill but just a little. The deal was too good to pass up. I am now absolutely positive the boat originally had a smaller motor. The mounting holes on the boat are closer together, closer to the top of the transom, and there are only 2 of them. The motor has several different holes to choose from, for the upper mount point and the lower mount holes are actually slots. So I have 4 bolt locations to use and the footprint of the mount plate is larger. Lastly the top of the mounting plate has a pair of hooks to hang the motor on the transom...I have not noticed these on the smaller motors. I measured the gap between the tip of the hook and the mount plate and got 3", in other words the plate would slide perfectly on a 3" transom with no slop.