Transmission Spewing Water

I have a used Tige 2004 Switch V I just picked up and the bilge kept filling up with water too fast after only being out on the lake a short time. I took it to a shop to have it looked at and they said the packing in the prop shaft was leaking too much water so they fixed that, they also said the sea water pump was leaking so they replaced the whole pump and told me the leaks were fixed. However, I took it out on the lake today and it did not leak just sitting at idle, but as soon as I put it into gear and started to move, I could see water is coming out of the transmission. Is it suppose to do this? I have to constantly be turning the bilge pump on to get it out. I am new to boating, but I have to think this is not normal and there must be something wrong that the mechanic failed to identify and fix. Can someone please watch the video I took of it today and tell me what they think the problem is and if it is a big deal to fix or not? I uploaded the video to YouTube and will post a link to it here.

Last edited:

Bondo

Staff member
Nope,.... Not normal,..... Is there any oil left in the trans,..??

Welcome Aboard,.....

kenny nunez

Captain
It may be a core plug in the rear of the engine block. To me it appears to be coming out of the flywheel housing.

That picture I just posted is of the front of the fly wheel. It is open. It looks like there use to be a rubber gasket covering it. Not sure if water could be coming out of here?

When it’s running have you checked all the clamps for your exhaust system? The ones in this pic look loose to me!