Trailer popped off truck! wont lock..help please?

lazydayz

Cadet
First off I wanna start by thanking everyone on this site. I had a couple issues with my motor and I made a post and I recieved detailed info from lots of people.

Second, I want to mention as I always do, I am a total NOOBIE at boating...

Backgroud: I have a 20 foot 1972 Witchcraft with a Mercury Blackmax outboard 170 HP motor. No info on the trailer...its got 2 wheels in the back and thats all.

Problem:

Today I loaded the trailer on my truck and began to drive home. I was at a stop, when I began to go the trailer popped right off and fell to the ground. thank GOD the chain was on, or else it wouldve rolled right into the senior citizen and his CADILLAC. When i got it back on I pulled into a gas station.
I figured out (remember im a noobie so i dont know correct terminology) the lock that u push down when the trailer is on the tow ball, seemed to not be locking around the ball. When i put the trailer on the ball and locked it, I could pick up the trailer right off the ball. I played with it a little and got it to lock in place (I think). Drove it home which was only 4 miles or less. I had 1 friend in front of me and 1 friend behind me traveling at 25 mph just in case it would happen again.

So I would like to know, what do u guys think I should do? Should I try to take the lock out and put it back togeher? it seemed very loose but the bolt wasnt moving, it was tight.....I just dont know....

Please help with any suggestions....

Thank you.

-Omar

Splat

Lieutenant
Re: Trailer popped off truck! wont lock..help please?

Couple of things. We'll start simple first, as I like to do.

Are you sure your ising the proper size ball. There are 3 standard sizes available. 1 7/8 2 and 2 5/16.

More than likely your coupler will be for a 2" ball, it should be stamped right on the coupler somewhere.