Towing skiiers with T-Top

jlcalbre

Cadet
I am thinking about selling my inboard ski boat and getting a center console for fishing. I like to do some wakeboarding, but I'm no pro so I don't need a fancy wakeboard boat and could ride behind the CC. I was curious if anyone knew of a T-Top that would be sturdy enough to pull a wakeboarder? I know most of them aren't designed for this, but I saw in MasterCraft's newest brochure one of their larger center console boats has a T-top that looks like like it has a little pylon on it for attaching a ski rope.

iBrent

Seaman
Re: Towing skiiers with T-Top

attach a harness/traveller to the stern eye rings.

I don't like to wakeboard with those bridles. Some center consoles have a ski pylon, which would be more than sufficient for wakeboarding.

jlcalbre

Cadet

I don't really like those things for skiing. Worst case, I could put a removable pylon on the rear of the boat, but I thought it might be cool to have something that functioned more like a regular wakeboard tower, if such a thing is actually available.

haulnazz15

Captain

Unless there is a pylon already on the t-top, I wouldn't trust that it was designed to withstand the forces of a full sized adult plus drag pulling on it. there's a good chance you'll bend the supports or rip something out of the deck.

cranca

Recruit

Where I live there are a number of places that make custom T-Tops and Wkeboard towers. Tops-N-Towers are 2 of them Millinium Marine. If you look them up and give a call I am sure if they have the specs on your boat they could make you something. Or if there is a custom aluminum place near you they could do the same. Tops-N-Towers is high but get a ton of business. Milinium dose awesome work also and a lil better priced. There are other places in my area that do this type of marine application. I am S.E of Houston close to Clear Lake / Seabrook.

Home Cookin'

Fleet Admiral