too much throttle kills motor...

mr 88

Commander
Re: too much throttle kills motor...

I would start to use sierra E gard-stabil-sea foam or what ever anti Ethanol treatment is on the shelf at your local auto supply store.Then you will not have to worry about your carbs and fuel pump.

dethalis

Cadet

Get non ethanol fuel and run some fuel stabilizer in it to perserve the fuel and you shoulf be fine... ethanol eats all the rubber pices up like the fuel pump diaphram... it also attracts water... and ethanol fuel seperates causing it to act ad tho you have water in your fuel..

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner

Get non ethanol fuel and run some fuel stabilizer in it to perserve the fuel and you shoulf be fine... ethanol eats all the rubber pices up like the fuel pump diaphram... it also attracts water... and ethanol fuel seperates causing it to act ad tho you have water in your fuel..

More hype and scare than fact.

dethalis

Cadet

I work in the petroleum industry and work mainly with gas station equipment. Ethanol has a very negative effect on rubber and in gas pumps we repkace diaphrams on a pretty regular basis and its because the fuel deteriorates the rubber and causes it to come appart and make holes. Engines from the 80's even the early 90's were not meant to run on ethanol fuel. I noticed my 84 merc running much better on non ethanol...

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner

Since the early 90's outboards have been designed to run on E-10, I live in one of the first states that required it, so for 20 plus years everything I own has been on a steady diet of it. Some of the very old motors do have some issues, that is until those parts are replaced with newer rebuild kits (these need to be good quality kits or you're right back in the same place). How do cars run on it for decades and have no issues with premature failure of rubber parts? (yes, I know the fuel systems can be different, but they all use rubber parts.)