To Wax or Not

WanabeBoater

Petty Officer 1st Class
I just read an article in Boating Life where this guy suggests using two coats of bees wax then a coat of Teflon. Does this sound like a good idea? or is it a waste of time and money? Also, What is Bees Wax anyway?

ebry710

Ensign
Re: To Wax or Not

Bee wax is the basic structure of a beehive. It is true bees wax.

What are you waxing?

D445547

Cadet

Don't bother with wax. I used to be an auto body tech for a number of years and all wax does is create a nasty buildup on your gelcoat sometimes distorting the color of your boat. Simply use a boat specific non-static glaze coat on your boat every few months or when the boat no longer feels smooth.
To maintain just wipe your boat down with a mild vinegar and water solution after a day at the lake to eliminate water spots.
I get mine from detailking.com, and sadly, no kickbacks for saying so.
Do the same for your auto.
Enjoy.:)

ebry710

Ensign

If you have waxed before, what are you using to prep before applying non-static glaze coat?

oops!

Supreme Mariner

if you hit search ....and use wax as a key word....i think youll find "wax" will come off your boat in a hurry.....

Last edited:

marine4003

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Everybody has there preference on wax's / polish ect....i've been boating for 25 years,am a throttle man on an APBA offshore racer, own 3 boats, and MY opinion is at the beginning of the season ,depending on condition of Gelcoat,compound/or polish....wash again....then apply 2 coats of Collinite # 845 Insulator wax, (it was developed to stop "flashover" on High Tension power lines) when needed wash boat ONLY with Boat soap (Orrpine) forget all this bee's wax nonsense,or all that super duper,new & improved crap,the only way to obtain a good gelcoat finish is hard work and good product,my boats endure Fla,sun & SC sun for 9 months a year and still look good come November.

dingbat

Supreme Mariner