To cuddy or not to cuddy

redblur

Seaman Apprentice
Ok, I'm new to boating. I've been out with friends, in the last year or two and I've used my father-in-law's and my brother's boat enough to know that I want one, and more importantly the family really seems to enjoy it. So I've been shopping. Ideally we wanted about an 18' open bow runabout, but everything I've seen is way too expensive for a hobby that we may find out just isn't for us, or is in way too rough of shape. I'm not afraid of a little maint since I do all my own car work and am pretty handly with snowmobiles, but I don't want to be left stranded with the wife and kids.<br /><br />Anyway, I've found a '86 19ft Ebb Tide Cuddy with a 4.3 that looks like it's in pretty good shape for a reasonable price. While a cuddy isn't what we origionally wanted, I've also been told by some boating friends that with small kids they're great (we have 4 1/2 year old twins) because if they get bored, tired, or sunburned, they can nap or play in the cuddy. We won't be "weekending" 95% of the time we'll be going out on local smaller lakes (southern Mn) doing a little fishing, pulling the tubes, maybe some skiing, etc. Maybe once or twice a year we'll take a run up the Mississippi.<br /><br />The only thing about the cuddy is that I'm a little afraid of it not doing well on some of the shallower lakes around here, and that maybe this just isn't the boat for what we plan on using it for.<br /><br />It looks like this particular model is pretty heavy. NADAguides.com list the weight as 2600lbs which seems a little heavy.<br /><br />I guess I'm just looking for some advise, pros and cons, etc. Since I've got such good help on the snowmobile forums I figured this is the right place to turn for boating advise.<br /><br />Thanks

Dunaruna

Admiral
Re: To cuddy or not to cuddy