tie-down master cylinder install problem

gsmith3286

Cadet
Hi, after replacing the rotors and disks, i found out my master cylinder was blown (leaking from the boot). I got a new master cylinder, installed it, and now i'm trying to bleed the brakes. Having a hell of a time.

I primed the dampener; primed the master cylinder (disconnected brake line at solenoid and pumped with the screwdriver until fluid shot out putting finger over the hole on release.)

When I run the clear tubing off the bleeder and crack the bleeder and then start pumping, I can't seem to get air pocket out of the line. It does seem like there's enough pressure in the system to push the fluid all the way through....I'm lost. Do I need a power bleeder for this? Do I have to have a vaccum test or something? THink I have a leak somewhere?

THanks guys

jacknbella

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: tie-down master cylinder install problem

Curious, which model of Tie Down master cylinder did you purchase? I too, am getting ready to replace mine. What brand of trailer do you have?

Utahboatnut

Senior Chief Petty Officer

When I did mine last year I heard you could gravity bleed them, thought it was hogwash. Couldn't get them to bleed the "right" way so figured I had nothing to lose, turns out it worked like a champ. Google it to see the process I was suprised it worked but it did.

dingbat

Supreme Mariner

What kind of disc did you put on it?

have a Tiedown coupler and couldn't get the brakes to bleed. I even bought a vacuum system to bleed them. Don?t work either. Come to find out the bleeders where leaking around the threads introducing air into the system. Replaced the cheap bleeders with a good quality bleeders (Speed bleeders) and I?ve not had a problem bleeding the brakes since.

gsmith3286

Cadet