Stupid mistake - F40 Yamaha

mallardjusted

Seaman
I decided to change the oil on my 2000 Yamaha 4-stroke outboard. If I had read the manual I would have known where the oil drain was, but I thought I was smart by siphoning the oil out of the dipstick/oil add opening. I used a turkey baster with a 5" clear, soft plastic tubing extension. So far, so good. Then the stupid thing happened - the tubing extension slipped right into the hole!!!! It's impossible to see or fish out!<br /><br />So .... (now that I've gotten past the embarassing part) .... will this hurt the motor to leave it in there, or do I need to do a complete disassembly to get the tubing out?<br /><br />I would suspect there would be something (screen, strainer, ??) to separate it from moving parts, but I'm not sure (from the first part of this note you can tell I'm not an expert!!!). If it actually did end up in moving parts, wouldn't the worst that can happen restrict the oil pump, which of course would shut down automatically due to restricted flow (I know this part works, as I have had this experience in extremeley cold weather. That's why I now use a synthetic oil, but that's another story ....).<br /><br />I guess life would be pretty boring if we didn't have challenges like this! Any insight on whether to leave it or not?<br /><br /> Matt

Trent

Captain
Re: Stupid mistake - F40 Yamaha

You already know the answer to this question. You have to get it out of there. No screen is their.

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner

hello<br /> no worries. there is a nice strainer, will take several hours by a trained tech to acess the oilsump. were it mine I would not sweat it but I would use a spring jaw type parts retriver to go down the hole and attempt to grab it. the only concern is is the tube going to deteriorate with time and feed debris to the pump.

Trent

Captain

Rodbolt... I looked at the parts diagram and did not see it..Are you shure Its their?? I could be wrong? But Id get it out.

bigbrownbuku