Storm Damage

I live in Raleigh, NC and during this winter we had a severe ice storm that brought trees down everywhere. Well, as luck would have it, my boat got hit by a large branch, which put a hole through the deck floor. I have an 18' Marada Fish/Ski Boat. The floor appears to be composed of a fiberglass/wood combination. The hole is near the stern, about 6" up from the bench seat that seperates the engine compartment. It is about 3" in diameter. I was thinking of just screwing a stainless steel plate into the floor. I am in the process of removing most of the interior to accomodate the new carpeting I plan to install. Any thoughts? I have never worked with fiberglass before, and would rather not. Also, some smaller limbs on this branch put some holes in the swivel chairs for the captain and passenger. About three or four holes total for the two seats. They are all about a 1/2" to an 1" in diamater, although there is one gash about 2" long. I was wondering if anyone had any past experiences with vinyl repair kits. I really would like to have it look good, so I am debating installing brand new factory seats. I did make out pretty well with the insurance company, so I really don't mind buying the seats if the vinyl will not look good when patched. Any help would be appreciated. Keep up the great forum guys.

6MISFITZ

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Storm Damage

If the hole is a through and through, then I would get a professional opinion and quote from a respectable marina or boat repair shop for the fix to the hull first. <br />They can check for any hidden structural damage that you might overlook. If they say it is repairable then investigate doing it yourself. <br />Price the seat for recovering vs repairing or replacing, you might find that easier to the pocket book and it would look like factory seats if both recovered.<br /><br />Mike.