Steering retro-fit

mellocj

Seaman
I have a 1963 17' fiberglass runabout. It is registered as a Starcraft, but nowhere on it does it actually say Starcraft :) <br /><br />Anways, I upgraded the motor last year to a 1974 115hp Evinrude, it had an old 1963 75hp on it that cracked. It still has the original steering, which consists of cables running around the steering wheel shaft and then back along each side of the boat to the motor. The guy that helped me put the motor on said that this steering system sucks, and I believe him. It is harder to move the 115hp motor around now compared to the 75hp. <br /><br />Is there a cheap retrofit kit I can get? Are there any boat junkyards that would have this sort of thing? I am a college student so funds are tight. I am worried that the force required to steer it will eventually rip the pulleys out of the sides of the boat. <br /><br />I have decent fabrication skills (welding and stuff).

Lark40

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Steering retro-fit

Having boats with both the cable/pulley system and a newer hydraulic system, there is no argument that newer is better.<br /><br />Go to some boat stores and pick up their catalogs, or log onto websites of manufacturers like Teleflex. An hour or so of research will give you the knowledge of what's available. <br /><br />The difficulty will depend on the configuration of you boat's rear deck and transom. Measure carefully according to the steering manufacturer's instructions.<br /><br />I wouldn't use a junk steering system, just my opinion.

D

DJ

mellocj,<br /><br />Go to ebay an type in the words: "boat steering".<br /><br />You can pick up a whole system for around $100.00, less steering wheel.<br /><br />Or, look at the systems on this site: iboats.

JasonJ

Rear Admiral