Smoking

BiXLL

Petty Officer 1st Class
I have been smoking for over 30 years. Last Dec. 26th I started the patch system and went through 8 weeks of it, dropping the strength along the way. Even with bad road conditions (I drive truck) over the winter, I was able to stay off while on the patch. About 1 month off the patch, I started to weaken occasionally, and now I am right back to a pack a day. Anybody got any suggestions as to what they did to quit for good?

Boomyal

Supreme Mariner
Re: Smoking

I went the patch route (successfully) then bought nicotene gum, stored them in a Altoids can, cut each 4 mg piece into quarters with a razor blade. Works really well, gives you the nico w/o the habit and bad stuff in the smokes<br /><br />I quit 6 1/2 years ago after 32 years of two packs a day. I still use the gum. Not cheap but alot better than smoking.<br /><br />If this is the first time you really quit, your relapse will work in your favor. Next time you quit, you will remember when you get the urge that there is no such thing as "I got it licked, I'll just smoke one"<br /><br />Good luck!

TPD211

Petty Officer 1st Class

I was a 2 to 3 pack a day smoker. I used wellbutrin (sp) to help me quit. It cut the urges and after a week or so I stopped the wellbutrin. I have'nt had a cigarette in a year or so. <br />The big issue for me to quit was the money I was throwing away. By quitting I promised myself I would by a boat, which I did. The money I was putting out for cigarettes is now my boat payment. <br /><br />Keep at it, if you really want to quit, you will.

BiXLL

Petty Officer 1st Class

what is wellbutrin? Is it a prescription?

revertmastec

Petty Officer 1st Class