Ski rope length and handle shape questions

scb1712

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hi all,

Was finally out skiing a couple of weeks back and had a ball! We're both complete beginners and have each only skied a handful of times. However, my wife commented that she felt the hand-me-down rope that we got from my brother was a bit short. After checking it out more thoroughly, i discovered that the rope is a single section 60 foot rope which used to be used behind a Sea-doo.

That got me looking into replacing the rope. However - i've seen all sorts of different stuff out there and don't know what i should be looking for. I primarily have 2 questions:

1) what length should we be using? Most of the ropes i see out there are 75 feet, but then i've also seen some shorter stuff. I figured i would get an 8 or 10 section 75 ft rope, but some posts say to never ski that far back. Could i just add a section of rope to my existing line to increase the length?

2) Curved handle or straight? I've seen some of the new ropes out there with the radius handles that claim to be more comfortable etc. Is there any value to those types of handles or would be be okay with a straight handle. We both had really sore fore arms the day after but i figured that was just due to the fact that we weren't used to using those muscles so much.

Thanks,

Scb

haulnazz15

Captain
Re: Ski rope length and handle shape questions