shed antlers

Booner

Petty Officer 1st Class
Just wondering if any one else looks for sheds this time of the year. I have been hunting for sheds a few years and have two big boxes full of sheds.

Barlow

Lieutenant Commander
Re: shed antlers

LOL @ Spinner ... ya pack rat :p ;) <br /><br />its been a few years since I've done it .. I could be wrong but, I'm thinking its a little too early up here.<br /><br />anyone know for sure?

Booner

Petty Officer 1st Class

Ya what Barlow said SBN :) <br />Barlow the older deer will start droping antlers in January the younger deer will sometimes cary them into late Febuary. It has to do with the loss of testostron.<br />When the rut is over the older bucks seem to loose testostrone a lot faster than the yonger bucks. Will let you know I am going shed hunting today.

SpinnerBait_Nut

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Originally posted by Booner:<br />Will let you know I am going shed hunting today.
I heard the buildingsrus.com was having a big sale on them. :D :p

dsrchamp04

Petty Officer 3rd Class

ive always wanted too try that but around here the porcupines usually get em before ya can find them....besides it usually just small whitetails in our neck of the woods..still a blast though i bet!!

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member

Well considering where I hunt is under 2-3 feet of snow (and the road is closed for the winter) and how cold it has been.... I will just have to skip the shed hunting.<br /><br />Bob

BoatBuoy

Rear Admiral

My wife is wanting me to hunt a shed. She has more "stuff" than will comfortably fit in our house. I have a tool shed, but it's full.

Booner

Petty Officer 1st Class

You guys kill me! LOL :D :D :D <br />dsrchampo4 no quillpigs here but the pakrats and squirels chew on them prety fast. If you deer hunt its a great time to see where the deer spend a lot of their time in the winter.

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member