SEA RAY vs CHAPARRAL

marco-polo

Cadet
Seriously looking to buy a new boat:
- Chaparral 244 Sunesta
- Sea Ray 230 Sundeck
The Sea Ray has a Merck 350MAG, 300hp, Alpha 1. The Chap has a Volvo 5.0L 270hp, DP. We boat on Smtih Mountain Lake in Virginia. Both boats have local dealers with good reputations. I'm a little worried about the 5.0L Volvo being undersized for that boat? Any advice, comments, opinions on the 2 models - ride, quality of construction, etc, etc?
Appreciate your help; thanks!

Doc_Vegas

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: SEA RAY vs CHAPARRAL

Hello Marco:

I am a newbie on here too, but I have been doing some similar searches. From the data I have gathered, it seems clear that Sea Ray makes an extremely good boat and that the 5.7L is the motor to have. Anyway, just thought I would chip in with my 2-cents in the spirit of sharing... you can look at my old posts regarding a Sea Ray vs. Maxum. I am ending up with the Maxum, but had I investigated here first - I probably would have gotten the Sea Ray.

Good Luck

lkbum

Chief Petty Officer