Rope Length?

cheejudo

Seaman
Hey I was wondering if anyone could tell me the recommended rope lengths and types for Skiing and pulling a 1-2 person tube.

I'm not a pro and don't plan on being in any ski tournaments..

oldjeep

Admiral
Re: Rope Length?

Standard ski rope is 75 feet. Not sure what a normal tube rope is, just don't use a ski rope.

cheejudo

Seaman

thanks.. i was looking at some towable ropes and some are "bungee"... is this something that is recommended for tubing?

skibrain

Senior Chief Petty Officer

60' is pretty typical for a tube rope. I prefer 50'. Having a shorter rope makes the tubes more responsive to swinging outside the wake. I have never used a bungee tube rope.

HollieMac

Seaman Apprentice

I don't think you want to use a bungee rope unless you are a very experienced driver and tuber, unless you want to get rid of your kids/friends. as for length, 75 is standard starter rope, to get you beyond the boat's wake, or out of the rough. But most boats have a sweet spot for skiing, wakeboarding, tubing, and you want to explore that using a segmented ski rope. Shorter ropes are easier to get newbies out and back in, easier to learn towing skills with, just be aware of where that rope is at all times. Shorter ropes allow you more control,you will have less slack, and this also helps newbies and seasoned skiers both. But you want to be riding where your wake is the best for the type of skiing you/they like. If you want to learn wake crossings, or you are towing someone who is likely to pull out and want to try crossing for the first time, you don't want them being at the roost, or the highest part of the wake. Where your roost is changes with speed also.

rallyart

Lieutenant Junior Grade

A 60' rope is great for a tube. Don't use a bungie rope. It needs to be stronger than a ski rope.
75' is standard for skiing with removable sections.
HollieMac has given you good information.

jeffbyrd66

Cadet