river fishing

stl

Petty Officer 1st Class
I visited a state park in Missouri today that the Meremac river runs through. It has a nice beach and swimming area that the wife and my step daughter could swim and lay out while me and my step son walk down river to fish. We both enjoy the thrill of catching catfish. The problem is I have very little experience fishing on rivers. I assume you look for deep holes, but I don't know how to spot them. There also is a spring fed creek that empties into the river just up river from the beach. Would this be a good spot. I am looking for some advice on how to find a good place on a river to fish. And also should we rig our lines any differently than we do for lake fishing?

nothreat

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: river fishing

I fish the Ohio River for catfish. I have found that the mouth of a creek is a really good place. At least in my experience there is frequently a dropoff outside the mouth and the catfish lay on the edge looking for careless fish and drifting matter. I am usually in a boat so I anchor above the mouth and let my bait go downstream right outside the mouth. If you are looking for channel cats, they will eat almost anything. Flatheads seem to prefer live bait - bluegill, shad, anything small enough to fit in their mouth. Bullheads don't care either and you see them in lakes a lot. Good luck.

Holdimhook

Chief Petty Officer

I fish the Tennessee and Elk rivers. Creek mouths usually hold cats, if there is current flowing and deeper holes this time if year, Also, look for rocky bluffs, rip-rap, or any kind of rocky structure off deep water. The spawn in these parts is usually in May, we fish 4-6 ft deep at that time, but as the water heats up, we go deeper- at or near the bottom. Usually fish a Carolina- rigged gob of redworms, nightcrawlers, or chicken livers. Good luck!

mays

Cadet