Replacing water pump on my '79 seahorse and other thoughts.

blackwaterstout

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I just received my replacement water pump kit here from Iboats.com. This is my first time ever replacing a water pump. I have a few concerns. I've included a diagram of the engine and I'm wondering about part number 14 in the diagram. It came as part of my sierra kit, but I really don't see how it fits properly in the water pump housing. If I place it in the housing before inserting the housing cup then it doesn't appear to fit right. The housing cup will not sit flush with the housing. Am I looking at this picture wrong? Does the seal actually go inside the housing? <br /><br />Also, I'd like to make sure the intake tube is clear after I take the pump off. What is the best way to do this? Should I blow air into the intake tube? How will this get past the thermostat? And speaking of thermostat, if I test the new impellor in a tub of water how long should it take before the tell-tale starts pissing water?

OBJ

Supreme Mariner
Re: Replacing water pump on my '79 seahorse and other thoughts.

There should be a cavity that the seal fits into. The seal is pressed in to the seal cavity with the face of the seal pointing toward the impeller. Have you compared the old pump housing with the new? Take a look and you'll see how it goes in.<br /><br />Easy way to make sure the water tube is clear, push a garden hose up over the water tube and turn it on. The t-stat is held in place with a spring. It'll give some to let the water past the t-stat....which, by the way, might be something to look at if you don't know when it was replaced last.<br /><br />Your included picture don't work either.... :)

D

DJ

BWS,<br /><br />We really have NO idea what part 14 is.<br /><br />Can you clarify?

OBJ

Supreme Mariner