Replacing water pump on 1974 85 HP Johnson outboard

tricks4u

Cadet
I just bought an old classic 1960 flying Scott, that has been restored. Right now it has a 1974 85 HP Johnson on it that runs like a top. I did something stupid, which you may have read in another tread. I am very new with outboard motors and have never owned one. I was doing something that was suggested by the old owner’s mechanic and when I started the motor with earmuffs on it was in gear and throttled up by mistake, there is way to much play in the controls, and I thought it was in neutral. I quickly idled it down and let the carb run out of gas like I was told to do, just before it ran out of gas a alarm when off. I had read in an old Johnson forum that this engine has a low on gas alarm and an overheating alarm. From what I have been told here that is not true, it seems to only have an overheating alarm, so I must have overheated it by running it to fast with earmuffs on it. I shut it down in less than a minute from the time the alarm went off.<br />It was recommended here that I replace the water pump. I do not have much money living on a fixed budget, so I would like to do this myself if I can. Question is if I am going to do this, is there anything else I should do while replacing the pump and is there anywhere on line that will show me how to do this? Thanks.....Tricks

alden135

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Replacing water pump on 1974 85 HP Johnson outboard

You really ought to buy, borrow, or check out from the library, a factory service manual if you have not done one of these before. Many here have done hundreds of them and can walk you through but it may go smoother for you with the book to refer to. You can go to ishopmarine.com and see a diagram of your motor. Look under parts lists and have your model # ready (it's on a plate on the transom bracket). iboats can get you the pump should you want to order one online. We all try to buy from here first to support the site. :)

D

DJ