Removing Vertical Drive on OMC Cobra

I would like to remove my vertical drive on my 95 Four Winns so I can lube the gimble bearing and universal joints. It is a OMC Cobra unit on a 4.3L Chevy engine. I have never done this before so I'd like to know if it is hard to do and how to do it step by step. Also is there a gasket I need to buy and what do I need to torque the bolts down to when I put the drive back on?

B_Eager

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Removing Vertical Drive on OMC Cobra

The gimble is lubed from the outside of the outdrive assembly. Do you have to lube the u-joints, or are the like the newer cars u-joints. Do not know what year they started using them. If you pull the outdrive you need a seal kit to put it back on. Check it out before you pull it all apart. If you are going to pull the drive, remove the prop, get the unit 90 degrees to the transom for a clean pull and more for assembly later. Get one more body to put it back on. Use the prop to aling the spines going back on. I think the torqe is 50 ft-pounds for the nuts, but don't quote me on it.<br /><br />Put the boat in forward gear before you pull the drive and leave it there till after it is mounted or you will break the little shift lever on the out drive!!

The owners manual said to lube the gimble bearing and the universal joints each year. Yes there is a grease fitting for the gimble bearing on the outside housing but the manual says to remove the outdrive to lube the universals. The manual also said to have this done by a OMC dealer so it does not give you toqure specs or say if you needed a gasket kit, but it does not look hard to do. Thanks so far for the info keep it comming.

Lark40

Senior Chief Petty Officer