Really stupid question

rrichard

Seaman Apprentice
I'm somewhat new to boating and my friends and I have been debating a really stupid question. Are there any problems (legal or otherwise) flying a jolly roger on inland waters? I doubt anyone could really fear or be concerned about the "Infamous Pirate Scraggly-Beard of Little Blue Lake," right? But then again, maybe some moron watched a little too much Super Troopers and would construct some sort of gang affiliation charge. <br /><br />What's your two cents?

ratt1966

Seaman
Re: Really stupid question

I have never heard of a law about that but you never know. They have some really stupid laws out there.

snapperbait

Vice Admiral

Arghhh! No problem I can see... I just bought a jolly roger flag last night and plan to fly it offshore...<br /><br />If they can't take a joke, the hell with em'... :D

Kilgore Trout

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Fly the Jolly Roger . Then take an empty case of Coors Light and wear it on your head like a hat.<br /><br />Two things that scream out "notice me, damn it! - I think that I am an out of control party animal - when in reality, I am just a dork that gets drunk on Coors light!"

jimchere

Petty Officer 1st Class

I say go for it. One of the Frigates I was on (USN ship) when we flew the battle ensign (huge American flag) we flew the jolly roger right underneath it. Part of the go get 'em character.

Jack Shellac

Lieutenant Commander

I don't see any problem with it either, but I don't think I would rush up to a Coast Guard boat and try to board it in the spirit of the moment. They seem to lack a sense of humor in these matters.

Link

Rear Admiral

Rick:<br />As you can see by getting 6 posts in just a hour or so it wasn't a stupid question: I'm throwing my hat in with the rest of the posts: Go Fly the stupid thing and have fun with it! Then after you get out of the Brig make another post and tell that story :) <br />Fly it high and have a good weekend<br />Link

muskyone