Rattle on decelration

Equis

Cadet
Hello,<br /><br />I am new to boating, I just got a merc 115 hp and it is great (but noisy) <br /><br />its sounds fine on the plane but when I back off it rattles for a few seconds, is that normal?<br /><br />Its only when backing off<br /><br />Thanks<br /><br />Rhys :)

outboard tech

Seaman Apprentice
Re: Rattle on decelration

You might be hearing some "decel knock"; would need to know how old is the unit--if antique, you could try higher octane fuel. But if you're throttling off quickly but not returning to neutral; you may be hearing the forward gear ratcheting the clutch dog in the gearcase, normal.

DHPMARINE

Captain

I throttle back quickly,but DO return to neutral.<br /><br />What octane should I use?<br /><br />can I adjust my decel?<br /><br />1997 115hp<br />DHP

outboard tech

Seaman Apprentice

'97 is tuned to run fine on regular. 87 octane. So I'd forget the decel knock and prop ratcheting. Almost all 2strokes have a reed flutter at around 2500 to 3000 rpms, but you'd hear that accelarating also. Ya got me on that one. Any chance the motor has been at some time overheated and you're hearing some piston skirt noise? There are many possibilities, and noises (even from the gearcase) transmit through the motor and can be hard to pin down. If the motor ever injested any water, you could have some rod or bearing damage, and that can be fatal. When in doubt, always start at the beginning--see what you have for cylinder compression. 15% or more diviation among the 4 is maximum, and they should all be very close--plus or minus about 10psi. Also, are you running a stainless prop? If so, what kind?

Equis

Cadet

Hello,<br /><br />It's a 2002 115hp, just got it.<br />Yep, Its got a Stainless prop on it, a "Vengence" (think its stainless)<br /><br />All other times the engibe just purrs and has heaps of power<br /><br />Thanks for all the replys :)<br /><br />Rhys

Hooty

Rear Admiral