Question on Wakeboard length

jlcalbre

Cadet
I'm looking at buying at wakeboard and am trying to decide between two that are marked down considerably. I am new to wakeboarding but have been skiing for many years, including double and slalom trick skiing. One is 142 cm, but the bindings aren't very good. Basically two flaps that close down over your feet with a velcro strap that goes across them. The other is 136 cm, a bit wider than the other board, but has MUCH nicer bindings. I'm interested in that one becasue the bindings are so much nicer, and it's only about $20 more.

I am 6', 240 lbs. Everything I have seen indicates I should have a board of 140 cm or more. My question is, does that 2 inches really make that big a difference, especially with the slightly wider board? If so, I may wait a bit and spend some more money, but if the 136 would work, I would go ahead and get it. Thanks.

Devious

Seaman
Re: Question on Wakeboard length

i don't think the width really matters. when you ride, there is only 1 edge in the water and the other is in the air.

go with the longer board.

FLWakeRider

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Width and Length both do matter...

With more width, you have more surface area in the water at a time.
A beginning rider does put more weight in the rear, but more advanced riders start to center out their weight more. and ride much more even.

The sandal (Strap-on) bindings are "OkaY" they will get you through your basics cutting the wake, in learning to jump the wake, and basic 180 spins. But, after that, they are pretty worthless. I have an OLD-skool Hyperlite skurfboard that has sandal bindings on it. I ride it from time to time just for fun.